First post…yikes

I have been following everyone else’s blog and to be honest I feel a little bit intimidated to write something. I am not sure I have much to offer. But…I have to start somewhere…right?

For the past 3 years I have been teaching 8th grade Connected Math along with 8th grade Advanced Algebra in central PA.  Prior to coming to the middle school I taught at the local high school…everything from soup to nuts…Algebra 1, Advanced Algebra 2, Algebra 2, low-level integrated courses years 1,2, 3 and 4, Pre-Calculus, Calculus (not AP…thank goodness) HOWEVER…I have yet to figure out the best way to teach math…and I have been “at it” for 15+ years.  There is so much I want to do and change about my teaching style that I sometimes get overwhelmed on where to start.

Thanks to many of your blogs and posts I have made some changes i.e. Interactive Math Notebooks. Thank you Math = Love.  However…I want to incorporate more…i.e Estimation 180, Math talks, Writing in Math class and on and on.  My method of teaching is somewhat different than my counterparts…I am more of a let’s have a plan but be ready and willing to change that plan depending upon students understanding of the concepts. I am not the teacher who has plans and homework mapped out weeks in advance…I am the person running to the copier first thing in the morning because a great Idea came to me in the middle of the night or on my drive into work.  I am definitely not your anal retentive math teacher…hence my desk is always a mess (but I know where everything is and can usually find it in an instant) my room always looks like a tornado just went through….very much organized chaos.

I will stop here…Next time I hope to post something more interesting and more useful.

Happy Summer to all!

Leave a comment